

PRESS RELEASE

For Immediate Release Wednesday, 24th February, 2010

Le Tour de Langkawi 2010 RACE OF THE CLIMBERS CONTINUES TO DRAW ATTENTION

KUALA LUMPUR - Genting Highlands Resort is often associated with fun and excitement, and its cool temperature offers an ideal getaway from the tropical heat.

Genting Highlands is the much awaited stage for the riders competing in Le Tour de Langkawi (LTdL) as it is the deciding factor in the race for the overall victory and the King of the Mountain (KOM) classification.

Genting Highlands stage is graded as a Hors category climb in the mountains classification and can be considered the "Queen Stage" of the annual race.

Genting Malaysia Berhad is the sponsor for the red polka dot jersey for the King of the Mountain classification which is the much sought after piece of attire among climbers, is traditionally sponsored by Genting Malaysia Berhad, which Genting Malaysia Berhad has been a corporate partner of the race since its inception in 1996.

For the 15th edition of LTdL, which begins from March 1 and ends on March 7, Genting Malaysia Berhad once again continues its sponsorship with a contribution worth RM1 million in cash and kind, in order to ensure the success of the biggest race in Asia.

Genting Malaysia Berhad Deputy Chairman Tun Mohammed Hanif Omar today presents the sponsorship to YB Datuk Wee Jeck Seng, Deputy Youth and Sports Minister at its headquarters in Wisma Genting.

"Genting Malaysia is honoured to collaborate with the organisers of LTdL 2010 because this further boost our promotional efforts for Genting Highlands Resort as an entertainment and holiday destination in this region," said Tun Mohammed Hanif in his speech.

"Genting is also proud to be among the main attractions to the international teams and riders that compete in the biggest race in Asia."

Meanwhile, Deputy Youth and Sports Minister YB Datuk Wee Jeck Seng stated that preparations for the LTdL 2010 are running smoothly.

"The commitment from all parties towards ensuring all preparations for the event are complete, is very much appreciated. It is proven that even with a smaller budget for the organisation of the LTdL this time, this has not been a major problem, but instead a challenge that has been taken up positively by the organisers and their hard work has produced results," said Datuk Wee.

On the chances of local riders to win the blue jersey for the Asian riders' classification, Datuk Wee feels that the chances are bright based on their recent performance and it is not impossible.

The climb up Genting Highlands is very popular among riders who compete in LTdL. Besides its steep and long climbs, those who are not well prepared will have problems arriving at the finish line which is 1,400 metres above sea level. This stage is also regarded as the stage in which the overall winner of LTdL 2010 would be decided.

Previous winners of the LTdL Genting Highlands stage:

1996: Damian McDonald (Aus/Giant Australia)
1997: Luca Scinto (Ita/MG-Technogym)
1998: Giuliano Figueras (Ita/Mapei)
1999: Marcus Ljunqvist (Swe/Cantina Tollo)
2000: Julio Alberto Perez Cuapio (Mex/Panaria)
2001: Paolo Lanfranchi (Ita/Mapei)
2002: Hernan Dario Munoz (Col/Colombia-Selle Italia)
2003: Hernan Dario Munoz (Col/Colombia-Selle Italia)
2004: Ruber Marin (Col/Colombia-Selle Italia)
2005: Ryan Cox (RSA/Barloworld)
2006: José Serpa (Col/Selle Italia-Diquigiovanni)
2009: José Serpa (Col/Diquigiovanni)

The 15th edition of the LTdL this year is organized by the Ministry of Youth and Sports with assistance from the Malaysian National Cycling Federation and has been granted hors category status by the International Cycling Union (UCI). The race comprises seven stages which are Kota Bharu - Kuala Berang which covers 174.5km, followed by Kuala Terengganu - Chukai (182.3km); Pekan - Mersing (145.6km); Mersing-Parit Sulong (163.5km); Muar - Port Dickson (111.5km) Putrajaya - Genting Highlands (102.8km) dan Kuala Kubu Baru - Dataran Merdeka (133.7km), with a total distance of 1013.9km.

As many as 120 cyclists from 20 teams, including two local teams will contest in the race.